Managing Audio Files


Last Updated: 07/14/2017 Back to Topic All Articles

If you prefer not to use the text-to-speech engine to play announcements on your calls, you can upload or create your own recordings instead.  For any feature where this is an option, you’ll see a Play Message field that looks something like this:

Play message field

Upload a File
The upload cloud on the left side of the field can be used to upload an existing file from your computer.  To upload a file:

1) Click the cloud icon cloud icon to open the upload interface.
2) In the pop-up that appears, click Choose File and select the file you want.
• Files must be under 7MB
• Supported formats: MP3, WAV, AIFF, GSM, and µ-law 3) Click Upload Audio.

Make a Recording
If you don’t have an audio file, you can create one on the spot by clicking the microphone icon.  You can use a headset or microphone with your computer, or you can select to have the system call you to create the recording.  To create a recording:

1) Click the microphone icon microphone icon to open the recording interface.
2) In the pop-up that appears, click Record from Computer or Record from Phone to choose your recording method.

  • To Record from Computer, make sure your microphone is ready to go, then click Start Recording. Wait for the beep, then begin your message. Click Stop Recording when you’re finished.
  • To Record from Phone, enter your phone number and click Call To Start Recording.  The system will call you so you can leave your message.  Then, then system will save your recording (this may take a few moments to process).

3) The system will save your recording (this may take few moments to process).  Once it’s done, you can preview the file and choose whether you want to use this recording, or start again.
4) Click Use Audio to use apply this recording to the field.  You’ll see your new file in the Play Message field:

Use Audio to use apply this recording to the field

View Past Recordings
All files you create or upload into CallTrackingMetrics can be accessed from the Past Recordings tab.  If you need to switch out recordings or pull an existing recording into a new voice menu or call settings configuration, you can do it from here.

View Past Recordings

To access past recordings, click the upload cloud upload cloud from any Play Message field in your account, then click the Past Recordings tab.  Click use next to any file to apply it to the current field, or press the play button to preview the recording.

Rename or Download Files
You can change the name of a recording or download it from the system by clicking the down arrow right on the file name anywhere it appears in the account.

Rename or Download Files

Copy Files to Another Account
If you create a recording in one account that you wish to use in another account you have access to, you can use the Manage Recordings page to copy the existing file somewhere else.

1) Click the upload cloud upload cloud from any Play Message field in your account.
2) Click Manage Recordings option at the bottom of the pop-up.
3) This will take you to the recordings management page in your current account.  All the recordings you have made or uploaded in this account will be listed here.
4) Search for the recordings you wish you copy and click the checkbox to select them.
5) Click the Select an Account drop-down in the upper right corner of the page and choose the account to copy the files to.
6) Click Copy to Selected Account.
7) The files will be moved to the account selected.  To view the files and apply them in the new account, you’ll need to switch into that account and apply them in the appropriate Play Message field there.

Delete Files
If you want to clear out some old recordings from your account, you can do so via the Manage Recordings page.

1) Click the upload cloud Upload Cloud icon from any Play Message field in your account.
2) Click Manage Recordings option at the bottom of the pop-up.
3) This will take you to the recordings management page in your current account.  All the recordings you have made or uploaded in this account will be listed here.
4) Search for the recordings you wish to delete.
5) Click the trash can icon on the far right of each listed recording to remove it from your account.

  • Keep in mind that deleting recordings is permanent.  Deleted recordings cannot be recovered or restored.

Was this article helpful?
0 0